Our Disney Hotel Experiences

Hello! Welcome back to my blog and apologies that it has been a while since I have last posted. This weeks post is going to be a bit different as I am doing a special collaboration with the amazing Chelsea (@Punzieleigh on Instagram – she’s very talented so make sure to check her out!). We have decided to join forces and share with you our own experiences from staying at Disney Hotels whilst on holiday in both Walt Disney World and Disneyland Paris. In Part one of this series we have chosen to focus on Walt Disney World Resort Hotels, I will be talking about my time at ‘Port Orleans French Quarter’ whilst Chelsea will be covering ‘All Star Music’. I have been looking forward to writing this post from the moment we both developed the idea and so I hope that you enjoy it!

Port Orleans French Quarter Review

Overview:

I have only ever stayed onsite at Walt Disney World twice, the second time being June 2016 where I was lucky enough to stay at Port Orleans French Quarter. This resort is classed as ‘moderate’ making it the centre-ground between what is classed as most affordable (value) and the most expensive (deluxe). The French Quarter is illustrated by colourful buildings, iron balconies and jazz music which enthuses the Mardi Gras theme. Both Port Orleans Resorts, the other being Riverside, are located closely to Epcot and all parks can be accessed via bus transportation. One of the benefits of the French Quarter is that unlike other moderates, such as Caribbean Beach and Riverside, it is rather small making it a lot easier to catch the bus to and from the parks with little need for queueing! Another benefit would be the boat service, this takes you to and from Disney Springs and so if you fancy something different I would definitely recommend this very beautiful and relaxing boat trip.

The Room:

During my trip we stayed in a Standard Room with a Standard View. These rooms can sleep up to 4 people and include 2 Queen Beds, a TV, Mini fridge, a small table and chairs and another area cordoned off by a curtain. Here you will find 2 Sinks with 2 Mirrors leading into the small bathroom which has a toilet and a bath/shower.

Overall I was impressed with our room. It was reasonably sized and comfortable enough to sleep 3 people, especially for a place where you hardly spend any time. The décor of the hotel was colourful and abstract, from the carpets to the paintings on the walls in order to fit the theme of Mardi Gras. The rooms were slightly less lively, but they still had elements of colour and pattern, making them appear more classy in comparison.

I would score the room 4/5! The beds were comfortable, the room was spotless and the air conditioning was amazing – what more could you ask for from a Disney World Hotel? The only thing I found disappointing was the lack of Mickey shaped towels on my bed. However, this is the smallest criticism I could find and other than that the hotel was perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

The Food Court:

The food court at the French Quarter is where you will find the majority of Mardi Gras themed décor with a variety of masks, jokers, ice cream cones and tinsel dangling from the ceiling. It is a Quick Service restaurant named Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factor Food Court. This is quite a big restaurant with around 4 different food stations and an area to refill your drinks if you are on the Dining Plan. Although I didn’t manage to get any photos of the food court itself, I did happen to take some of my favourite food court breakfasts, Mickey Waffles and the French Quarter special – Beignets!

We mostly used the food court for breakfast as we tended to use the Dining Plan at the parks, having spent the majority of the day there. However, the food I ate was great and the food court was convenient from where our room was located so it was easy enough to pop down to refill your drink or grab a snack (or a take-away pizza) if necessary.

As well as the food court, the French Quarter also had a bar called ‘Scat Cat’s Club’. Here they provided food, entertainment and alcoholic beverages so it was definitely more of an adult atmosphere. Dining plans could not be used on the food at Scat Cat’s but I’ve heard from my mum, who spent a lot of her time in the hotel after injuring her foot, that it was delicious and totally worth the money!

I would rate the food court 4/5! The food was great and at the standards you would expect from a quick service and the court was never too busy, with it being a smaller resort. However, I am quite a fussy eater and so I did find it difficult to find something that I liked outside of the breakfast menu but there are plenty of other places to find food outside of the resort and so it never really became a problem.

Recreation:

 

This resort was full of extra activities for people of all ages to get involved in. The pool was quite big and featured a lizard themed water slide, so the children wouldn’t get too bored if their parents wanted a relaxing day at the pool. There were also plenty of pool-side games held by the lifeguards. Personally, I only visited the pool to cool down during the middle of the day meaning I am not entirely sure of the games specifically but there was definitely a hoola-hooping competition at one point during my stay.

The pool is not the only source of entertainment either. One of my favourites being the movies under the stars where you could sit on the grass in the centre of the resort and watch a Disney movie with a complimentary bag of popcorn. This was a great opportunity to relax for the evening, as I’m sure you all know that Disney holidays can be exhausting. Another event held by Disney resort is the campfires where I have heard there are plenty of games and toasted marshmallows.

I would score Recreation 5/5! I was thoroughly impressed by the amount of activities that were available in comparison to my previous stay at a Disney resort 10 years prior. There was never an opportunity to be bored, even if you were fed up of walking around the Disney parks. I will take any excuse to watch Cinderella and eat popcorn in my favourite place in the world and perhaps it was that which has won me over, however I would still recommend staying at this resort if you want to ensure that even your relaxing days are entertaining.

That’s all for my Port Orleans French Quarter review, I hope that you found it both resourceful and entertaining! If you want to read more like this please make sure to visit Chelsea’s blog (http://punzieleigh.blogspot.co.uk/) where she will be reviewing ‘All Star Music’ and keep a look out for Part Two!

Thank you for taking the time to read this post, Chelsea and I have both been really excited to put it together and so we hope that you enjoyed it! Don’t forget to check out Chelsea’s amazing Instagram page (@punzieleigh) and my own (@mainstreetmagiic) for more Disney magic!

Love Shona xxx

 

Leave a Reply

